AuthorTopic: Battleship [WIP]  (Read 2913 times)

Offline Fiona

• View Profile

Battleship [WIP]

on: March 25, 2007, 11:52:05 am
Hey! Brand new newbie here.
I wouldn't say I'm new to pixelling, but I wouldn't say I'm much good either. (Especially judging by most of the work on this board...!)

So I saw another trailer for Spore (my word it will be the best game ever made) And there was a little bit of it where the player was using the editors to make their own ship. So I was inspired to draw my own bulky cartoonish battleship.
I'ld really like some critique on it, it's using a pretty restrictive pallete by my standards and it's working okay for me so far....

Thanks!

Offline AdamAtomic

• natural born medic
    • View Profile
    • Adam Atomic

Re: Battleship [WIP]

Reply #1 on: March 25, 2007, 05:40:22 pm
First off, welcome to Pixelation!  I hope that you learn as much as I have :)  Here comes my crit...

Make sure that you aren't painting on a pure white background, use a darker color (40-60% luminosity with maybe a little blue or red if you're going for specific values).  I think that's having a very negative effect on the contrast in this piece, or lack thereof.  Your water shape even for something cartoony doesn't really make sense - the things sticking off are too long, and the shading makes it look like clay or something.