AuthorTopic: thoughts on my kurama?  (Read 3131 times)

Offline damogeko

• View Profile

thoughts on my kurama?

on: July 29, 2019, 07:33:57 pm
so i'm a newbie in pixel art and i've been stuck with this for a while now, i'm kinda having problems with shading and drawing pixelated fur. I tried to make it more realistic and drawing some fur but it always ended up just looking weird. What do you think?
(sorry for any mistakes, english is not my native language)
« Last Edit: July 30, 2019, 06:10:26 pm by damogeko »

Offline daramon

• View Profile

Re: thoughts on my kurama?

Reply #1 on: August 05, 2019, 01:05:43 pm
There's a great example of making a fox look "furry" in the featured section:

https://pixelation.org/index.php?topic=19686.0

It's long and takes time to get going, but the results are very impressive. You can probably find a lot of what you need there.

For a very brief idea, look at this example image I found online. Notice a few things:

1: The fur effect is applied to the outline of the character as well as internally.
2: The artist isn't drawing every strand of fur, just giving an impression of fur by breaking up the outlines of shaded areas or adding in occasional rough detail.

This could give you a head start in thinking about how to make something look furry.

Offline daramon

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 05, 2019, 01:32:32 pm
I thought that the images you presented were a bit eye-searing and lo and behold, I load it into Pyxel Edit and I find that all your colors have "saturation" slammed to max.

A rule of thumb I go by is never to max out saturation when drawing my basic shapes. I start off making it a bit right-of-centre, like 60%-70% or so. I want somewhere to go if I need it, and I don't want to burn the retinas of the people looking at my art.

Lots of saturation makes things look like they're glowing, so your character looks radioactive. It's also harder to create shade as everything's emitting light!