AuthorTopic: My pixel art. Sprites/signitures etc  (Read 3400 times)

Offline skoby

• View Profile

My pixel art. Sprites/signitures etc

on: March 22, 2007, 08:55:12 pm
Greetings,
I am a self taught pixel artist, I have only posted a relatively small amount of my work here.  I have been pixeling for about 2 and a half years, but only every now and again.  I first started pixeling due to the game I play, pixel signitures became very popular and I joined the craze.  My first pictures were very plain and had little shading, but with time I have "poached" some techniques (I zoomed in on other pixel art and tried to replicate the shading) and it wasnt until about a year ago I found some good quality tutorials. 

Recently I have been looking more at more mainstream pixeling, and noticed that my dithering techniques are totally different to a lot of other artists and generally I rely more on different colours to dithering, only dithering to blur the boundaries, or to give texture.

If any experienced pixel artists could give me some critique and advise for developing my technique I would be very grateful.  I only have a handful of examples but they are all fairly recent works.

Excuse the photoshopped reflections, I did do a pixelated version originally but I felt it let the work down so i cheated

My favorite picture, and a self portrair of me and my girfriend in one of my favorite places.
and a WIP
I am having real problems with the sunset in this one, especially the change from orange to blue... any advise would be great

Here are some of my sprites and items all of these are at the very least a year old.  The game never really happened.  We were using a game engine (Konfuze or something) which was slightly modified by my friend.  It was abandoned due to frustration with the laggy software and constant problems with new versions of the software.

http://img172.echo.cx/img172/5174/items20056qs.png
http://img27.echo.cx/img27/6237/spritessofar9cm.png