Critique > Pixel Art

How to Handle Instance Animation on Moving Charackter? (Solved)

(1/3) > >>

appo:
I want to get into Pixel Art&Animation for Gaming in Combination with Learning Unity so i am new with all that Stuff.

The Question i have right now is about how do you handle/structure a Instance Animation which happens during a already Triggered Animation. For example the Robot below. Lets say i triggered the Jump and the Animation happens but during the Jump i fire the Weapons which should get animated too (currently no example). How exaclty do i have to structure that to have a gun fire Animation when i want to shoot while being in all these different Char Animation States?

Update - Original Size Version and Sheet

Kiana:
If you want the guns to move independently from the rest of the sprite, then I recommend separating them onto a different layer and animating the "firing" animation (like recoil or rotating the guns) separately from the jump. When you implement the sprites into the game, just parent the motion of the guns to the body so they move together as though they're connected. Bullets, projectiles, or particle effects should be their own sprites as well so their frames and motion don't have to depend on anything else.

appo:

--- Quote from: Kiana on July 15, 2019, 10:33:38 pm ---If you want the guns to move independently from the rest of the sprite, then I recommend separating them onto a different layer and animating the "firing" animation (like recoil or rotating the guns) separately from the jump. When you implement the sprites into the game, just parent the motion of the guns to the body so they move together as though they're connected. Bullets, projectiles, or particle effects should be their own sprites as well so their frames and motion don't have to depend on anything else.

--- End quote ---
makes sense, thx for the tip!
i knew about the separate projectile stuff but i was not so sure with how to handle chars.