AuthorTopic: Shaping & Shading a bag of flour  (Read 2761 times)

Offline garwan50

• View Profile

Shaping & Shading a bag of flour

on: May 22, 2019, 10:04:30 pm
Hello,

i'm new to pixelart, I wanted to learn this art to make my own little games, I have a loooong way to go but at least now I have a starting point, I bought this book called Make Your Own Pixel Art, and it's pretty good so far but that would be awesome if I could get some insight, reviews and more generally help from more experienced artists.

So the first thing I want to do is shaping (and shading) a bag of flour, something that looks kinda fluffy but also have round edge, I'm sure you know what I'm talking about. So I tried to merge 5 primitives together : 1 rectangle and 4 spheres.

I tried and made this so far, I like the left part but I can't get something satisfying for the rest. Could you give me a hint ?

Thank you, the grayer parts was meant to help me picture the image in "3D", I guess it'll take time for that. I can't draw IRL and I probably lack observation skills.

Thanks !

Offline SeinRuhe

• @SeinRuhe
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/127850.htm
    • View Profile

Re: Shaping & Shading a bag of flour

Reply #1 on: May 25, 2019, 01:06:24 am
Hi Garwan,

It's quite hard to tell what are you trying to do exactly since the piece is so early in the process and we lack a reference of what you are trying to do, so far I have the impression that you are mixing a bag and a sack of flour together.

Anyway, I'll try to help you a bit by providing a reference and a quick, sloppy process on how I would do this using your workflow, I'll try to keep this excercise under 15 minutes so pardon for the low quality.

Here's the reference:

Here's a .gif of the process:

And here's a description of the process: