AuthorTopic: Sprite vs Background, ongoing battle  (Read 9486 times)

Offline Stwelin

• View Profile

Re: Sprite vs Background, ongoing battle

Reply #20 on: January 18, 2007, 03:16:35 pm
Thanks fawel. I coded my own engine, and i've always done so. I've been a programmer for a much longer time than a pixel artist. I did think about doing an autotiler, but there are some kinks that i need to work out. For example, the edit you did doesn't include the little 'diagonal' tiles that are on the 4 corners of the second set in my tiles, if you had a ledge like this:

|
   |____
  x

Where the "x" is would be a blank tile, and the ones to the right of it and above it would end abrubtly.

I am thinking of giving the "block" or "platform" instance a variable that will change depending on how it's positioned and what surrounds it. Then, a block that is where the "x" is could check the variables of the blocks around it, and then it would know to become a cornerstone, persay.

Thanks for the example. i really appreciate the ideas.

(oh, btw, i am using the hspeed function in gamemaker to move the character, but i have not worked out ramps/slopes yet, not sure if it's entirely possible if you use anything but X displacement, however, i like the mario-esque smoothness and friction you get from using horizontal speed.)

Offline fawel

• View Profile

Reply #21 on: January 19, 2007, 12:30:49 am
Do not use hspeed, use jump to position(x+3 for keypress right, etc0 , theres a dnd function for it.  That way when you do slopes, you can code " x+3, y+1 "  It's kind of complicated, but I really recommend you look at the foxengine to get a better idea of how it works.

Foxengine

(I know this isn't pixel-related, just trying to help)

Offline Stwelin

• View Profile

Reply #22 on: January 19, 2007, 02:42:07 am