AuthorTopic: Face attempt  (Read 1749 times)

Offline Nirwanda

• View Profile

Face attempt

on: October 27, 2018, 06:12:17 pm
I wanted some opinions on a face I made.

I'm using this palette btw.
http://pixeljoint.com/pixelart/119466.htm

EDIT: edited due to some changes made to the drawing.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2018, 08:45:26 pm by Nirwanda »

Offline EduardoPras

• If it is damn hard it is probably right
    • Eduardo_pras
    • illpalazzo-sama.deviantart.com
    • View Profile
    • Beta 2 Games Studio

Re: Face attempt

Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 09:21:37 pm
Hello Nirwanda,
I am no expert but let me try to help you a bit.
First I’d like to point things that I think you are nailing!
-Cool character, you can see personality on the expression.
-You lines are carefully placed and line flow is really good.
-You colors generally have a nice hueshift.
And some things I think you could do in a different fashion:
-I would try to avoid so much line dependency, you are using it as a crutch to separate planes.
-I could not understand what are the orange things in her clothing(So I removed them).
-Sometimes I think you could push the hues a bit further. (Could be the palette, I did not have time to check if there were better alternatives)
-Your anatomy seems a bit off, her chest seems way too big and not aligned with her center.
-Decide on a lightsource and stick with it. Try to see the character as a 3D object.
-I would try to simplify a lot of the smaller shapes into bigger ones.
-Try to avoid absolute blacks and whites when possible.
-Try to suggest volume at every opportunity. (Ex:Face contour, Clothes and the bandanna on her head that I messed up!)
Here’s how I would do it:

Hope it helps!

« Last Edit: October 30, 2018, 09:24:25 pm by EduardoPras »

Offline Zanorin

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/177874.htm
    • BasmatiPixel
    • View Profile

Re: Face attempt

Reply #2 on: October 31, 2018, 09:39:22 am