AuthorTopic: Bear Punch animations for prototyping  (Read 2079 times)

Offline Dawck

• View Profile

Bear Punch animations for prototyping

on: August 04, 2018, 04:51:38 am
im making a timing based game, (similiar to kirbys minigame Megaton Punch!) im more of an artist than a programmer but im starting to enjoy basic programming very much, not too good at optimizing code tho, anyway heres what i have so far this are all the states chained together, theres some big issues here but im more focused on getting something i can start to iterate on so as long as it reads and i can move on to figuring out code, im happy.

im a beginner at doing pixel art but i really wanna improve, i dabbled in it every once in a while but this is the first time im animating this much per se, most of it has been doing studies and the like, im very bad at clustering still. i do draw alot everyday but its not pixel art related.

any comment or critique is appretiated!

things i already see but got not much of an idea of what to do about them

missing secondary animations

ease in is non existent

colors and clusers are way too simple and in some places plain wrong to describe form

line is too noticable for my liking but ive yet to experience what to do about coloring line, im looking at some resources but nothing to show so far

no aliasing not a bad thing really but maybe it would help?

im just talking tricks/ gimmicks not really "animating" and it feels like im too dependant on smear frames and stuff like that, the only animation ive ever done is motion graphics in AE and pixel art so im a not so solid on animation terminology and process, ive watched a ton of animation over the years so that has been carrying my, recalling tips or tropes of animation ive seen/liked over the years. not sure if this is even recommended, anyway thanks for reading!

Offline Rydin

• ...zzzt...
    • @thickDumps
    • View Profile
    • thickDumps

Re: Bear Punch animations for prototyping