AuthorTopic: How to help the player judge depth and height  (Read 2474 times)

Offline Vinik

• View Profile

How to help the player judge depth and height

on: May 17, 2018, 11:04:20 pm
Hello everyone. As a starting dev, I did what starting devs do and attempted a game to broad and too demanding on the amount of assets and subsystems needed to complete it :-[. While I will never abandon it, I decided (again) to make a short game with the main fake-3d features of my "engine", but reducing tiles to 16px base instead of 24px, and swearing to keep it simpler, with no dialogs, no procedural generation mazes etc, just a succession of cool and creative levels. The main goal is still being a topdown platformer (sans the rpg parts), which, in a quick mockup should be something remotely like this:

Even if it is simpler, it needs some conceptualization to ensure good gameplay on the y and z axis, so here is what I planned:
  • Levels which are much wider than taller, approaching a classic sidescroller, no vertical scrolling needed. The y axis movement is a twist on a mostly mario-like horizontal game
  • Free platformer movement on x and z axis, but a smoothed out grid based movement on the y axis so players wont have trouble judging their landing on the axis which is shortened because of the perspective
  • Explicit ways to let the player know how high he/she is, and distingush when objects are touching the ground or hovering in air
  • Making the maximum jump distances match multiples of the tile grid
My first ideas for point 3 are:
  • (Mockup above)Tie brightness levels to altitude layers on the z axis, palette swapping the color ramps one step up or down for each layer (8px)
  • Cast shadows on a straight line under objects, preferentially paletted shadows by alpha + posterization shader