AuthorTopic: Cube and Sphere critique please  (Read 2646 times)

Offline hachimannpixel

• View Profile

Cube and Sphere critique please

on: May 15, 2018, 08:08:44 pm
Hi Im new to the community, Im a digital artist and Im trying my hand at pixel art, could I please get a critique of these simple primitives that i created? for instance are they accurate and your opinion on the shading and colour palette?

Im trying to improve and master the basics so any criticism to improve is helpful!

thanks
« Last Edit: May 15, 2018, 08:23:01 pm by hachimannpixel »

Offline Vinik

• View Profile

Re: Cube and Sphere critique please

Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 03:19:57 am
They are competent studies on solids, the cube is better, the sphere needs work. You might want to experiment with different light positions for the cube, and also with different alignments, like front aligned cubes, or trimetric perspectives.

As for the sphere, the shading cells are a bit too many and too evenly spaced I believe. If you were aiming to keep a matching material with the cube, it would be best to have less bands, two larger areas for a light and a dark shade at most, a highlight and, perhaps,  if you are looking for a challenge, a terminator, but that is not so easy to tackle with pixels. Look for references on spherical shading on art guides, spherical objects on your house, and maybe even rendered "toonshaded" 3d meshes on google to get a feeling of how spheres are typically made on pixel art.

Offline hachimannpixel

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 03:38:00 am
Thanks Vanik, i should have mentioned that I had no intentionto have the cube and the sphere be the same material. I'll work on the sphere study as you suggested having less bands and less reguarly spaced. It was my thinking that more bands would create a more denser looking sphere though.

Offline pistachio

• Mostly lurking
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/125138.htm
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: May 20, 2018, 09:33:23 am