AuthorTopic: [Wip] Looking For Critique and/or advice on an original character  (Read 2062 times)

Offline Lord Zamith

• View Profile

New To Pixel Art (About 3 to 4 months of experience) currently making tilesets and assets for a game I am building from scratch.

I am having trouble with the main characters Idle stance, in specific I feel like the legs are off. Any critiques or advice is welcome.

Offline Kroan

• View Profile
I really want to help you as I'm also new to pixelart and know how helpful some feedback can be.
That said I myself have not much of experience ( a few weeks into pixelart no characters so far ) so use with caution!!!

Overall I like your character, the colors, the art style really nice!

Is this supposed to be a battle pose? Or just the standing still pose?

I did the following: I stood up from my chair and tried to do exactly what your character does.
If you do this you will realise that it somehow feels unnatural.

If it is just a standing pose:

Why is one foot on it's toes? Why the arms are in a 45 and 90 degrees angle? If it's just standing put both feet on the ground, closer together and the arms just in a small angle like 5 degrees or so. More relaxed I mean. If it should Idle, you can simply do that by moving the upper body a bit down and up so it looks like breathing.

Like here

(It is a bit slow but it's good to see how it works)

If it is a fighting pose:

The arms then would need to be more in front of the body and a bit higher to be able to block the face. Like a boxer I guess.
The foot is fine then, alternatively put it on the ground completely and then perhaps a bit turned.

Hope it gives you some ideas^^

Greetings

Kroan
« Last Edit: May 03, 2018, 09:30:55 am by Kroan »

Offline Lord Zamith

• View Profile
Thanks for the kind words and advice!