AuthorTopic: Help a Beginner Out!  (Read 2404 times)

Offline Bickot

• View Profile

Help a Beginner Out!

on: April 09, 2018, 03:42:01 pm
I've been doing pixel art for 2-3 months so far as a little side hobby, but I've been looking to take it more seriously since past few weeks. I fairly new to drawing and there's a lot of things that I don't really know much about such as forms, shapes, values, and how their applied to pixel art.

I've been enrolling into online courses that are centered around this, and while they do explain what they are, they don't really go into depth as to why their important. Which I find really frustrating!

I came to the forums hoping I could develop some idea of what I'm doing because at this point I just find a lot of things extremely vague.

Here are a few pieces I've made so far:

This was actually one of the first pictures I've made using Aseprite. I'd say here I really just doodled while borrowing some parts from other drawings like the beak and the scarf. I didn't really have any idea what I was doing at the time. You can say I was just drawing off references rather than my mind.

This one was my second drawing. Like the first one, I didn't really have any idea what I was doing and honestly it actually turned out worse than my first one. I also want add that I was experimenting with shading a lot more with this one, but I didn't much of an idea about it aside from making the lightest part the lightest and the darkest part the darkest depending on where the light is being directed.

This one was actually an accident. I was trying to draw a cat but the muzzle kind of looked more like a puppies so I went in that direction. This is also my first animation too, albeit it's pretty simple.