AuthorTopic: [WIP] [C+C] Platformer forest level mockup  (Read 2511 times)

Offline DekuJuice

• View Profile

[WIP] [C+C] Platformer forest level mockup

on: March 26, 2018, 02:12:14 am
I'm making art for a platformer game, and this is my first attempt at pixel art.
The trees in the background were scribbled out pretty quickly and haven't been cleaned up yet, so I'm mainly looking for help and criticism regarding the grass and dirt tiles right now. I'm aiming for a green/blueish color scheme, like you're deep in the forest, although not so much that there's very little light, so I would like some help regarding the colors of the dirt in particular.
I also intend to be able to climb walls in my game like in Megaman X and Zero, so I'm thinking the walls should be "straighter", but I'm not sure how to go about that.

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline Xorceles

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] [C+C] Platformer forest level mockup

Reply #1 on: April 07, 2018, 07:40:30 am
Imo it need lianas and some fireflies

lianas's description:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liana
this will give you a idea

Offline heyguy

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 09, 2018, 07:19:58 am
Looks good, keep it up! Experiment with adding some light detail (rim lighting, etc) on the middle ground. Also I'd say just make the rocks straight instead of bumpy (for easier wall sliding). You can make the rocks on the inside vary in size to replicate that "bump" effect.

Offline Tidbit

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: April 09, 2018, 09:52:43 pm
There's a tutorial by Saint11 that will help you out a lot:

I also suggest trying to hue shift your colors a bit more; don't be afraid to really push things! Contrast is your friend, not something to be afraid of. :)

Offline DekuJuice

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: April 18, 2018, 02:25:36 am
Thank you for the advice.