AuthorTopic: Mermaid help please  (Read 3431 times)

Offline menijna

• i cant draw
    • View Profile

Mermaid help please

on: January 08, 2018, 09:24:17 pm

Hello guys.
I am a total beginner in pixel art, and i hope i can get better. I've seen some tutorials on youtube, and im working in asperite. Can you please recommend me some courses (other than the list on forum) and mark my mistakes, or suggest how can i improve the picture? Thanks for your time.
I'm working in asperite.

Offline MysteryMeat

• "The new alternative to q-tipping your cat!"
    • mysterymeat
    • spoiledmysterymeat
    • View Profile
    • My rad art blog!

Re: Mermaid help please

Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 12:18:37 am
as someone who hard-specc'd into pixelart before learning to draw properly:

LEARN NORMAL ART FIRST.
pixel art is essentially regular art with extra precise quirks and methods, and you'll stand to gain significantly from more standard areas of learning.

most people reccomend the andrew loomis guides for learning to draw, but theres also folks like prokos on youtube for those who need a more interactive learning aid
PSA: use imgur
http://pixelation.org/index.php?topic=19838.0 also go suggest on my quest, cmon
MAJOR BORK TALLY: |

Offline Zanorin

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/177874.htm
    • BasmatiPixel
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: January 09, 2018, 01:00:52 am
Welcome to the forum :) (I don't know if it's appropriate since I'm a noob as well but hey)

Your picture is pretty nice, especially considering you're beginning. Here are some areas you could work on to improve it :

- There are some anatomy issues with your mermaid : I'd make her waist less square and a bit hourglass-shaped, give her some feminine curves ; I'd make her "thighs" a bit longer so that it looks like her "tail fold" (errr...) is where her knees would be if she had legs, I don't know if you get what I mean. Don't hesitate to sketch your character on paper before going full pixel art.