AuthorTopic: Pixel art for a 2D unity platformer  (Read 2999 times)

Offline CloudHare

• View Profile

Pixel art for a 2D unity platformer

on: November 25, 2017, 09:40:02 am
Hey everyone!

I'm rather new to pixel art and completely new to this forum. I'm making a platformer game on Unity and I'm using pixel art.

I used 384 by 216 pixels because it is in 16:9 ratio.
The knight is a 32 by 32 sprite.

So my 1st question is: Does it make sense to make backgrounds of such size for 2D Unity pixel art games?
2nd: Is it obvious that those are stone bricks in a dungeon?
And also: Is the knight ok? Or should I add more detail?

Thanks!

Offline eishiya

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/28889.htm
    • View Profile
    • Website

Re: Pixel art for a 2D unity platformer

Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 04:42:41 pm
What do you mean by "backgrounds of such size"? If you're referring to how small the knight is relative to the screen, that depends on the type of game this is, and the camera motion.

The bricks read fine, though I think they'd look a lot better if they were bigger.

The knight doesn't look finished. It looks like they're wearing grey spandex rather than metal armour. The armour needs more sections. Shoulder guards, knee guards, etc. In addition, armour is shiny (high-contrast) and tends to reflects the colours around it rather than just being pure grey.

Offline Decroded

• Oh hai
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 07:25:44 am
work got boring so did some doodling in (GIMP portable  :yell:).

Offline SilverBrick

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: December 06, 2017, 09:45:51 pm
The background’s contrast looks fine but I think the bricks could stand to be bigger.

Right now, there’s a disparity between the simplicity of the foreground/knight and the detail of the background. If you made the background bricks bigger, that’d probably fix the issue. What level of detail are you trying to go for?