AuthorTopic: Is pixelling as art dead in games?  (Read 13425 times)

Offline Helm

• View Profile
    • Asides-Bsides

Re: Is pixelling as art dead in games?

Reply #20 on: November 06, 2006, 11:20:59 pm
Nobody would do a huge piece and apply pixel techniques to every little bit. It's just insanity. But even if they did, in the eyes of the public that'd just be CG, just good insane-detail CG. Is that what you hope pixel art will be in the arty crowd? If you can't see the pixel, you're misrepresenting Pixel Art.

Offline Souly

• Killer of threads.
    • View Profile
    • Punkys Portfolio

Reply #21 on: November 07, 2006, 03:37:33 am
My friends believe that pixel art is unintresting.
They don't like to see the pixels, they don't see the beauty from something made with limited colors where I do.
This is probably because I'm a pixel artist.

Today the demand in games is for 3D animation.
The average person now a days does not find pixel art attractive.
They play games just for the graphics.
I have had chats with MANY of gamers and they base games on the graphics not the originality or the game-play.

Offline Xion

• View Profile
    • FourbitFriday

Reply #22 on: November 07, 2006, 05:17:56 am
I have had chats with MANY of gamers and they base games on the graphics not the originality or the game-play.
They're not real gamers.

Offline AdamTierney

• View Profile
    • Adam's Page

Reply #23 on: November 07, 2006, 06:06:44 am
Nobody would do a huge piece and apply pixel techniques to every little bit. It's just insanity. But even if they did, in the eyes of the public that'd just be CG, just good insane-detail CG. Is that what you hope pixel art will be in the arty crowd? If you can't see the pixel, you're misrepresenting Pixel Art.