AuthorTopic: Frost Giant - Help  (Read 2939 times)

Offline hexcode

• I'm a Full-time Pixel Artist for hire!
    • @joseph_silipo
    • mrsilipo
    • View Profile
    • Joseph Silipo's Portfolio

Frost Giant - Help

on: October 12, 2017, 12:14:12 am
I'm making a Female Frost Giant holding an Axe. 64x32 and 32x32. How do you guys think I could improve it.
I was going for glimmering skin. And also a Castlevania Symphony of the Night approach without copying it entirely. Am I anti-aliasing to much? Is the color palette ok?
I want to learn more about what I'm doing right and wrong.

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 23, 2017, 01:47:09 am by hexcode »
Twitter @joseph_silipo
AVAILABLE FOR HIRE
I'm dedicating my life to become an amazing pixel artist.

Offline Roach

• View Profile

Re: Frost Giant - Help

Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 01:49:34 am
If I'm quite honest, I can't really think of anything much to improve on this. The style and colors are great. I like how visible the details are already. I'd call this a job well done.

Offline eishiya

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/28889.htm
    • View Profile
    • Website

Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 02:21:55 am
I also think you did a great job with the details. I do have nitpicks though 8]

I think the AA might be a bit much in some places - the shadows on her axe-arm and leg look so soft that they don't really help define the form. Her face looks like a blur rather than something with (implied) features because the AA takes up most of it.

I'm not sure what the dark area on her chest is meant to be, it doesn't read well to me on either sprite.
The sparkles on the skin don't really read well to me, they just look like poorly placed highlights. I think at these sizes it might be better to leave them out because they're too large to read as sparkles.