AuthorTopic: Pixel art production times and quotation  (Read 3346 times)

Offline hexcode

• I'm a Full-time Pixel Artist for hire!
    • @joseph_silipo
    • mrsilipo
    • View Profile
    • Joseph Silipo's Portfolio

Pixel art production times and quotation

on: August 01, 2017, 01:03:43 am
Hi guys,
I'm not so new to pixel art creation, but when working for clients, I'm struggling to ascertain the average production speed.

I know it is varies based on detail, design, size and experience. But what I am asking is; how can you judge yourself? How do you know when you are producing too slow, or doing too much, when less is required, or if you are getting yourself into a deep hole of work and little pay.

Are there exemplars in the industry who can give some guidance to us learning the trade? Some kind of mentoring or just quick chats about the work I (we as noobs) produce, the time it should of took, the price it should have cost.

How can I acquire or gain this kind of knowledge without trail and error alone. I know things takes years to learn, but you
 experienced guys out there, can you help an aspiring artist out with some recommendations with work-flows, production speed and quotation expectations/estimates?

Are there any old threads regarding this topic? I've seen the ones about prices per hour. Most clients hate per hour, they all want per frame or per asset. This kind of quotation is tricky to juggle.
Twitter @joseph_silipo
AVAILABLE FOR HIRE
I'm dedicating my life to become an amazing pixel artist.

Offline MysteryMeat

• "The new alternative to q-tipping your cat!"
    • mysterymeat
    • spoiledmysterymeat
    • View Profile
    • My rad art blog!

Re: Pixel art production times and quotation

Reply #1 on: August 01, 2017, 01:08:31 am
It's good to price by the hour or by effort. I do rough estimate quotes up front, with a note they may be subject to change if I have trouble with certain things.