AuthorTopic: [WIP] mock up for 2d platformer, new to pixel art  (Read 7034 times)

Offline vie_draws

• @vie_draws
    • View Profile
    • artstation

[WIP] mock up for 2d platformer, new to pixel art

on: July 05, 2017, 02:28:19 pm

Hi guys!  I'm new to pixel art and have been working super hard to get more comfortable with it... I am more used to traditional painting and concept art with digital tools.  I am now working on a game called Swansong.  It is a 2d platformer with retro graphics.  I did a few tile sets and here you see a mock-up.  I mostly need critics on colors and overall harmony of the pieces.  I think I have difficulty with the hierarchy of the backgrounds  and it looks in overall blend to me.  Thanks for any constructive critics!  Here is the twitter of Swansong if you want to check it out: https://twitter.com/Vertex_Zero
« Last Edit: July 05, 2017, 02:44:33 pm by vie_draws »

Offline Gizmonicgamer

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] mock up for 2d platformer, new to pixel art

Reply #1 on: July 05, 2017, 06:10:25 pm
I really like the colors! It might be a stylistic choice, however, but I feel like there can be some minor issues of readability here between elements; increasing the contrast or boldening the dividing elements can help to change this. I like how it looks regardless, though.

Offline CFKaligula

• View Profile
    • My Tumblr

Reply #2 on: July 05, 2017, 07:12:41 pm
Edit:
Did some colours edits. I think the plants could be much more plant-like to really give the piece some contrast. Same as Gizmon said readability is kind of an issue, its not very clear where you can stand and where not. What i tried to do is desaturate background (or what i assume is background) and saturate non-background, which i assumed were the ladders and the blocks on the ground.
You get in the bowl

Offline vie_draws

• @vie_draws
    • View Profile
    • artstation

Reply #3 on: July 05, 2017, 07:41:54 pm