AuthorTopic: background to simple?  (Read 4833 times)

Offline immortalwombat

• View Profile

background to simple?

on: May 23, 2017, 11:20:30 pm
Made this character and decided to give him a background. I'm relatively new to pixel art as this is my third attempt.

Offline Tycho Magnetic Anomaly

• View Profile

Re: background to simple?

Reply #1 on: May 24, 2017, 09:34:30 am
Hi there, first of all I am new to this forum, and new to pixel art too so please don't take what I say with any seriousness.

I think what you have done is pretty fine considering its the foreground sprite that is the focus. The only thing I might say is that the blue robes he is wearing are getting washed out with the blues of the sky, and sea in the background, and the result is the contrast between him and those parts could be better.

I am not sure if you are working with a restricted pallet, but I might recommend changing the color of the sky to something else, perhaps a very very light pink (yea sometimes odd colors for skies gives nice results).. if you can use gradients even better,  or even try dithering to break up the uniformity of the solid sky color.

something like this perhaps:

Detail wise I think what you have is spot on, since the focus is the character a non-busy background like you have might be ideal.

Good work, and best`o`luck

Offline immortalwombat

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: May 24, 2017, 10:59:21 am
I agree, especially the water. I like the sky in the first one quite a bit. I might even go for a dusk setting or maybe just change the robe colors.  I also like the gradient use in your renditions and will likely play around with that. I'll mess around with it and post the results. Thanks for the pointers!
« Last Edit: May 24, 2017, 11:23:32 am by immortalwombat »

Offline r1k

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: May 24, 2017, 05:36:54 pm