AuthorTopic: Need Help  (Read 2937 times)

Offline yanda02

• View Profile

Need Help

on: August 22, 2016, 09:04:17 am
Please bare in mind that I am new to pixel art

This is my pixel art of a Damaged Knight.
I feel like it's kinda good but I still feel like something is wrong (I have not done the shading and lighting effects YET).
If u have any tips that would help me make it better, please let me know. ;D

Offline Capta1n_Henry

• View Profile

Re: Need Help

Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 01:46:59 pm
Well, welcome to the world of pixel art! There's a few things wrong with this piece that are holding this piece back

1. The sword and shield are too similar in color to the main body that it's kind of hard to read.

2. You need to work on the anatomy. I like the look your trying to go for, but the body is a box, the legs and arms are too thin, and there is no neck whatsoever. (Not trying to be mean or anything so sorry, I suck at anatomy too so I'm just spitting out what others would say to me)

3. I would recommend making all of the objects basic flat colors like you would see in a cartoon that it's easier to work on shading. After that, you can add in all the details for the sword and shield, and the cape.

I'm kind of new to pixel art myself so hopefully someone more skilled than I am can help you out with this. Also, since I'm new, kind of take my words with a grain of salt.

Offline yanda02

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 04:22:17 pm
Well, welcome to the world of pixel art! There's a few things wrong with this piece that are holding this piece back

1. The sword and shield are too similar in color to the main body that it's kind of hard to read.

2. You need to work on the anatomy. I like the look your trying to go for, but the body is a box, the legs and arms are too thin, and there is no neck whatsoever. (Not trying to be mean or anything so sorry, I suck at anatomy too so I'm just spitting out what others would say to me)