AuthorTopic: Drawing skills?  (Read 1952 times)

Offline infinitylsx

• View Profile

Drawing skills?

on: August 03, 2016, 10:14:12 pm
Hey everyone,

I'm new here and I am just beginning to venture into the beautiful style which is pixel art. I aspire to be a great pixel artist and I find much motivation around this forum. Though I was curious, must I improve my actual drawing skills to improve greatly as a pixel artist?

I do enjoy drawing and wish to get better, but should I prioritize that over pixel art? Is it necessary to make great works? As a beginner I can't tell if the reason I can't make a tree is because I simply lack the knowledge and know-how to be able to do it; or am I supposed to be good at drawing and draw a template first?

Regards,
Infinity~

Offline PartyFish

• View Profile

Re: Drawing skills?

Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 10:29:52 pm
You will learn as you work with pixel art  :)

I can't draw for shit when it comes to actual drawing but I still started drawing with pixels. I am still just a beginner and I have problems with lightning for example and alot of other basic things that experienced pixel artists can point out and correct immediately.

In my opinion you don't need any experience from drawing other stuff, as you will learn and progress with pixel art.

For your tree problem I suggest that you look up other peoples drawings and works and try to learn from that, That's what I always do. And of course get help from this forum  ;D

I wish you good luck and all the best  :hehe:

Offline MysteryMeat

• "The new alternative to q-tipping your cat!"
    • mysterymeat
    • spoiledmysterymeat
    • View Profile
    • My rad art blog!

Reply #2 on: August 03, 2016, 11:05:43 pm
I'm of the EXACT opposite opinion, having learned to draw in pixels before properly learning to draw at normal resolutions.