AuthorTopic: [CC] Beginner's pixelart, critique appreciated  (Read 1668 times)

Offline nanoblit

• View Profile

[CC] Beginner's pixelart, critique appreciated

on: May 28, 2016, 07:52:06 am
Hi. I'm a complete beginner.  I made these two pictures. I hope it doesn't count as an artdump, they are pretty similar in style. I don't have any specific questions since I don't know anything and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. :P
I try to limit colors, because, you know, pixelart. I know you limit colors in pixelart... I also try making darker colors more purple/crimson and desaturated and lighter colors more yellow, I guess and lighter colors also get closer towards white. I've heard doing so makes pictures look good.

But please, don't comment only on colors, because I'm sure there is much more wrong with these.

I hope CC means critique. :P
« Last Edit: May 28, 2016, 10:42:54 am by nanoblit »

Offline SmashAdams

• View Profile

Re: [CC] Beginner's pixelart, critique appreciated

Reply #1 on: May 28, 2016, 04:40:40 pm
Hi there, and welcome to pixelation!
I think your pixel art is pretty good for a complete beginner.
I made a quick edit to your first drawing. It was probably a stylistic choice, but I found that the black outlining of the eyes and mouth really flattened the character.
I also felt the face was rather flat (being all one beige colour) when compared to the detailed flames, so I added a bit of shading to the face to give it more volume!

Offline nanoblit

• View Profile

Re: [CC] Beginner's pixelart, critique appreciated

Reply #2 on: May 28, 2016, 07:11:41 pm