AuthorTopic: newbie sprite artist looking for critique  (Read 2624 times)

Offline theEXcore

• View Profile

newbie sprite artist looking for critique

on: March 04, 2016, 08:12:34 pm
exactly what it says on the can. im new to this pixel art stuff and i want to get as much constructive criticism of my work as possible. i don't have manny people around me that both know how to sprite/or are critical to point out errors or offer advice so be as harsh as possible! please and thank you.

i have been spriteing for about 6 months so im still fairly new to all of this jazz

first up is some wips: i was asked to mimmic the maple story style but maple story sprites are hella garbo so i fussed with it a ton until i got something i liked.

here i was trying to develop my own style to use for a larger project later on. most of these are super wip feel free to rip them to shreds.

after taking some time doing other things i went back and reflected on one of my first attempts. does it look like a solid improvement?

<new on the left and old on the right>

thanks for reading i look forward to your responses. please be as critical and honest as possible.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2016, 08:18:22 pm by theEXcore »

Offline Roach

• View Profile

Re: newbie sprite artist looking for critique

Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 08:22:02 pm
You have a stray pixel in saitama's run on his head.  :D

Edit: As Wzl pointed out I preferred the left one too.

Edit2: I just noticed quite a bit of your animations have stray pixels in places. Those could be worked on.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2016, 01:10:35 pm by Roach »

Offline wzl

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 08:57:11 pm
your style gels a lot with me. really like it.
What catches my eye though is that you occasionally use outlines, but not consistently, to a point where it feels weird to me. I'd suggest to either use them, or not. mixing them is kinda strange.