AuthorTopic: About character design  (Read 2195 times)

Offline odedrt9

• View Profile

About character design

on: February 05, 2016, 08:49:03 pm
Hey there,

So my friend and I are working on a game(roguelike-ish) and I thought on making the tiles 16x16.
Now, the entities doesn't have to be the size of the tiles but can't be too big also so I thought about making the character 16x16 or 16x20.

But as I'm mainly a coder, not an artist, I don't really know anything about designing characters and especially this small.
So I came here looking for advices, what styles are fitting for this size, the game is a side-scroller platformer but the I want the character to have a slight tilt in perspective.
I'd really appreciate some advices and then I could try some things and post them here for critics.

Thanks in advance!

Offline astraldata

• View Profile
    • MUGEN ZERO

Re: About character design

Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 04:32:19 pm
The biggest issue with what you're trying to do isn't that you don't know how to design small characters, but that you are designing characters before you have a solid grasp on what exactly you need the characters to actually do in the game.

If you say that you want your character to have a slight upward tilt, but your canvas size doesn't allow that easily, then you have some creative design options, assuming you're willing to throw away your line/concept art. If not, then you'll struggle perpetually throughout your game on art, losing the charm, as well as the speeds, that pixel art can offer you when you embrace its quirky ways (i.e. Not enough pixels? That's fine by me -- I'll just draw less details and get it finished in a fraction of the time!)

With your character, a valid design approach is this: