AuthorTopic: Boat Game Mockup  (Read 2409 times)

Offline spO_oks

• View Profile

Boat Game Mockup

on: November 29, 2015, 02:04:26 pm
Hi Everyone!

First time posting some of my own stuff on here :O

I've been working on a little boat game mockup, that I intend to turn into a simple distance/last as long as you can type game, I'm thinking you bounce back and forth between different 'lanes' dodging obstacles and killing enemies. It's nothing original or special just something for me to practice making a full game end to end, I have lots more adventurous ideas but just want something that I can actually complete :P

I'm a developer but I LOVE pixel art so have been practising trying to get good at it. Have done a few other bits and pieces but nothing that I've used for anything.

Semi happy with what I have here but it doesn't feel quite right(leaving out the game overlay for now, lives, score etc, as I haven't 100% decided on what the gameplay is yet), not sure about the colour of my sea or the clouds, they worked better with an earlier iteration, but not sure how to tweak them now. Pretty happy with my boats birds and people and though!

Oh, btw, this is my most favourite forum, you guys are awesome!

Offline Pusty

• I like cheese
    • View Profile

Re: Boat Game Mockup

Reply #1 on: November 29, 2015, 10:48:25 pm
Haha looks good! :D (I really like those clouds!)

The peaks of the mast looks weird with only having one pixel.
I don't know what this white thing in the middle is / I can't really read it
The transition from sea to horizont looks kinda weird.
The sun doesn't look right to me, maybe adding some sun shines or something like that
The thrown thing looks kinda weird (maybe because of its positioning)
Just a random hobby gamedev passing by O:
[Ludum Dare][Itch.io]

Offline spO_oks

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: November 30, 2015, 01:15:23 pm
Thanks for the feedback Pusty!