AuthorTopic: [WIP][C+C] Mockup of 2D platformer  (Read 9588 times)

Offline drunkenoodle

• View Profile

[WIP][C+C] Mockup of 2D platformer

on: September 27, 2015, 10:16:01 pm
Hey all,
Happy to finally pluck up the courage to ask for some C&C on this little project I'm working on, this is my first time here, so I'm brickin' it a little bit... :|

The idea generally is a 2D platformer, but I'm quite new to the way of the pixel, and as you may notice can't seem to make the characters 'pop' out of the scene. Which as you'd expect is ideally what you'd want when playing a game.

Just a final mention to go out to http://quale-art.blogspot.co.uk/ for offering much inspiration when coming to constructing them there dwarves. Their proportions I found work pretty well with the surroundings.

Any help/comments would be massively appreciated anyway.

Many thanks! :)
-D
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 11:30:10 am by drunkenoodle »

Offline Joe

• View Profile

Re: [WIP][C+C] Mockup of 2D platformer

Reply #1 on: September 27, 2015, 11:26:40 pm
Hey there, welcome to Pixelation.
What's to be scared of? People help people here. You might get strong crits but it's a good place.  :)

Sprite/background separation is usually done with outlines, contrast and saturation.
Your style will probably not include outlines, so instead you can shift the background to a higher key/lower contrast and desaturate it, while doing the opposite for your sprites.
That's pretty much all it comes down to, trading realism for readability.

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/475.htm
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Reply #2 on: September 28, 2015, 07:48:48 am
What also works for separation is animation. Animate the characters and they'll instantly pop out.

Offline drunkenoodle

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: September 28, 2015, 09:06:28 am
Hey there!