AuthorTopic: First time pixel animation  (Read 8088 times)

Offline wezzulus

• View Profile

First time pixel animation

on: July 17, 2015, 01:01:19 am
Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I stumbled across this board when looking up stuff about pixel art and thought it would be a great place to get feedback and share my work.
Next to it being my first time posting on here, it's also my first attempts at pixel art and animating it.

The character I'm working on is going to be used for a game I'm working on(something that's a first for me as well) for a selection procedure at a game art course. I don't think it's too bad for a first try, but I'm feeling quite insecure about it and would love to get critique and feedback so I can learn and improve.

I left them all the original size, I think I have seen it mentioned in some threads that that is preffered.

Thanks,
Wezzulus

« Last Edit: July 17, 2015, 01:09:49 am by wezzulus »

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/475.htm
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Re: First time pixel animation

Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 01:42:43 pm
I think that's pretty good, certainly enough for a selection procedure if you ask me.

The simplicity of the colors in large clusters is a very good way to get solid animations going, you can always add detail or shading later if you want to. Personally, I'd add hand-pixeled normal maps to this, that'd be a great way to score points. I'll try to provide you with a sample of that, PM me if I forget.

The animation feels a bit stiff, but is pretty solid. The fabric motions feels like the strongest part, the head movement is the weakest. Could use a little more hip rotation.

The sword feels very aliased because it's pretty thin with two contrasting colors. This doesn't quite work for me. Is it a glowing, thin sword or a highly contrasted sword?