AuthorTopic: [C+C] Photo into pixel art  (Read 3358 times)

Offline LisandraTD

• View Profile

[C+C] Photo into pixel art

on: July 15, 2015, 12:08:07 am
Hey!
I am kinda new to pixel art, but i am having lots of fun! Maybe I could even go pro if I can improve enough, because I have seen so much great works here.
Soooooo I have been practicing using real photos to try and see how it would turn out if I made then into pixel arts.
Today I wanted to make something green, so I searched the web for a photo

This is the reference (it's under spoiler so it won't use too much post space)

(this cactus is so cute  :) )

And this is the finished product

And the one above is the updated version after IrresponsibleFreelancer's help! Thanks!
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 11:18:04 am by LisandraTD »

Offline IrresponsibleFreelancer

• Risponstible
    • View Profile

Re: [C+C] Photo into pixel art

Reply #1 on: July 15, 2015, 01:30:08 am
The first thing is the light, you did it from the right when in the ref its a rim light cuz its from the back.  Second is that the spines on the cactus follow a spiral pattern and the way you portrayed it is rather sporadic.  Finally the spines get closer to orange not light green as they near the bottom.  Other than that nice job portraying something so detailed in so few pixels.  Keep it up and like you said youre a pro. :y: :lol:
  quick edit although its not a very good edit (ill leave the rest up to decroded)
I dont get it done, but when i do its not done.

• Risponstible
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 15, 2015, 01:46:37 am
Sorry i also forgot to note that the pot was too shiny in the pixelling whereas in the ref it was very matte and shineless.  I might be wrong but i believe you may have been looking at ref from up close therefore some of the colours are a bit to much what you'd think rather than what is really there.  for example the shadows on the flowers are much more red.