AuthorTopic: New to Pixeling  (Read 22069 times)

Offline HalcyonDreamer

• View Profile

New to Pixeling

on: August 28, 2006, 04:05:56 am
Hey! New aspiring pixel artist here! I've read a bunch of tutorials, read over some of the best work over here, and thought I'd give it a go.

Reason for pixeling: Out of necessity, I'm a game programmer working in flash, wanting to make games in the spirit of old NES games like Megaman, ect.

I didn't really see a "read this to know how the forums work" post on the way in, so if anyone could point me to that or answer a few questions, it would be really helpful.

1. How do I post images of my sprites? Do I need them hosted on another site? (That's how img tags work, right?)

2. Any tips for a new pixel artist?

3. What's a good "project" to start off with? I'm having a lot of trouble creating original sprites that look correct, and have stuck to modding/recoloring Megaman sprites, which most likely is a big no-no.

4. I'm using Tile Studio right now, is that a good program?

Hopefully you'll be seeing me around, this seems like a really great site  ;D.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2006, 04:08:28 am by HalcyonDreamer »

Offline Mr.Modem

• My avatar is more outdated than yours...
    • View Profile

Re: New to Pixeling

Reply #1 on: August 28, 2006, 11:56:51 am
First of all: Welcome to the forum! I consider myself a beginner too but I think I can answer your questions anyway.

1. Yes, you need to host your images on a hosting site before you can post them in the forum. I use Imageshack http://www.imageshack.us/ myself but some prefer Photobucket.

2. Read a good tutorial (check out st0vens site: http://www.spriteart.com) Then begin to study some of your favourite images/sprites. Then pixel something on your own. Then study some more. Then pixel some more....

3. I don't think it matters what you do as long as you start with something small. That will help you to develop you pixeling techniques.