AuthorTopic: [PAID] Looking for an experienced Pixel Artist for a Fighting Game project  (Read 2739 times)

Offline kupo15

• View Profile

Background
I am making a 2D physics based fight game that is a cross between Smash Bros and SF or Mortal Kombat. The goal is to make a game that feels like Smash bros but has the look and flavor of traditional fighting games so that both smash bros players and street fighter players have a common game to play with. I realize this is a difficult feat but I believe the game already has achieved its goal even in the beta state. I've had a street fighter player with his fight stick play against a smash player with a controller and have a really good time.

I will start out with showing you a press kit of the game I put together which shows where it is now and where it was planning to go. I am no artist yet I spent the time pixel arting all the animations you see so I can show people a really good representation of what the game is all about. There is a download link in the original post if you wish to play it for yourself. You can also read all the responses from other people who tried it out and you will find positive responses all the way back when I first posted it 2.5 years ago.

Press Kit (post #102)
http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=589973&p=4616681

I thought the HD art direction of game was good but some people who are artists that went to school for it think it could use much improving (look at page 6). I was given a very strong suggestion to change the art style from the "bad vector art" direction to a pixel style art or something better and after being convinced I very much agree this is something necessary to the game. The goal of the game is put it on kickstarter and raise a good amount of money which definitely won't happen if I were to stick with the HD art direction. So now I need to change the art style of the game.