AuthorTopic: [C+C][WIP]Some sprites for a strategy game  (Read 2211 times)

Offline VTactics

• View Profile

[C+C][WIP]Some sprites for a strategy game

on: January 19, 2015, 04:10:24 am
So i must admit that i am pretty new at this but a couple friends and i are working on a tactics game.  Before we get too far into the art assets i am trying to get as much feedback as i can regarding our work. 

below is a link to some of our unit sprites.  I plan to animate them eventually, but we need to get as much base art out as we can for our testing.

so please, provide us with some feedback.  Dont be afraid to be brutal.  beat the bad habits out of me now.  😊

I am currently doing all work in photoshop.  One guy does the basic lineart, then i clean them up and add color and shading.  so far the only lineart I've done has been a bit on the humans.  The bowman is the one i did the most on.  I changed him from a robin hood looking guy to match the asian theme the concept artist later went with.

Thanks!

http://imgur.com/a/25vrQ

Offline Joe

• View Profile

Re: [C+C][WIP]Some sprites for a strategy game

Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 04:40:14 am
Hello, welcome to Pixelation.

Using someone else's lineart as a base, and starting with lineart in general, are two habits you'll want to drop immediately. Sketch out your characters, yea, but start with the overall forms before adding details or textures. This is for your own benefit, as well as the benefit of the art.

I realize you're doing this for a game so you have a responsibility, but if not for that I would say take a break from pixels and study up on traditional art first. There a pretty good resource thread here and an anatomy thread as well. Might not be what you want to hear but traditional skills are the foundation of all mediums, and everyone can stand to be better at them.