AuthorTopic: GR#229 - Robot - AA  (Read 9445 times)

Offline ramenradian

• just a guy with glasses
    • View Profile
    • dreamwidth, because i'm bored

GR#229 - Robot - AA

on: November 20, 2014, 11:07:07 am
So uhm, hi. New user, hope we get along, etc, etc(there's no intro board, so that's my intro :P). So this is the piece I've been wanting some help with:

It's mainly for AA practice, but I also wanted to try doing bigger pieces because most pixelart I've done are game sprites and the like. Anyway, I probably need another buffer color or two, and maybe a highlight as well? I'm still an amateur when it comes to picking colors  :'( Plus some of the lines are iffy, especially on the dark, tube things.

Oh, can I throw in another earlier piece I did? It was mainly to familiarize myself with aseprite.

I'm content with this one, but if you can suggest other improvements, please do!

So.. that's it, thanks for reading.  :)

Offline EvilEye

• Game Developer Extroaordinaire
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP][C+C] Oh look, a robot. Anti-aliasing is hard. <_<

Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 01:38:04 am
I think you've got the basic idea, but I don't think you're using a dark enough color for the AA. Also going too heavily makes the lines thicker in sort of a glow-like fashion, which is not really the point. You're trying to soften the jaggedness not increase the line thickness.

Offline NaCl

• When it rains it pours
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: November 21, 2014, 06:43:49 am