AuthorTopic: Skeletal Animation Question.  (Read 3639 times)

Offline Omar-Comin-Yo

• View Profile

Skeletal Animation Question.

on: July 12, 2014, 10:05:30 am
Hi there, I'm currently working on a 2D video game, I'll refrain from boring you all with the details, suffice it to say i was intending on using simple straightforward spritesheets for character animations.
However there would be a lot of work involved (which doesn't typically bother me) but the sheer memory usage would hinder the portability of the project (ie, id need to write some seriously dirty and involved hacks to swap out memory in order to keep things running across all platforms)

There are frankly more reasons to avoid spritesheets at this point than there are to utilize them, so go skeletal and keyframe it was my gut.
That being said, i have no real experience (yet, give me a few weeks however and i'll no doubt have plenty) and one of the characters has an animation cycle that would be fairly straightforward with sprites, but i cant see how it would work on a skeletal.

Think about Johnny5,

his movement cycle had him rolling on treads however they're flexible, as if attached to suspension struts...

I was looking at making the front and rear drivewheels meet towards the middle (think like making a yapping motion with your hand) which is straightforward enough, much like skeletal leg bones joined at the hip, no issue animating that.
Where i do have issue however is that i have no way to keep the treads animated...

Again I'd have no problem doing this with conventional spritesheets frame by frame, but skeletal doesn't seem to work like that, is there a way to do this? can textures attached to bones be animated perhaps, like a combination of skeletal and conventional sprite?

Like i said, my experience is limited here and i have no idea if this is possible, i figured you guys may have some input... if you'll pardon the pun :)

Offline Indigo

• Administrator
  • Artist, Indie Game Dev