AuthorTopic: Young pixel artist looking for critique!  (Read 10687 times)

Offline LarkoftheRiver

• Hobbist Animator + Apprentice Falconer
    • ordinaryredtail
    • ordinaryredtail
    • ordinaryredtail
    • sarah.fonvile.9
    • View Profile

Young pixel artist looking for critique!

on: June 30, 2014, 04:53:39 pm
Hello all! I'm a young pixel artist seeking critique and advice on my work. I have been pixeling for about a year, and would like to know if any of you have opinions on how I should proceed in progressing.

Pixels are from oldest to newest.

(my icon and favorite)

Thank you so much for looking! I look forward to hearing from you!

Offline Fizzick

• View Profile

Re: Young pixel artist looking for critique!

Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 05:20:14 pm
If you want to develop as an artist, broaden your efforts towards more than just one kind of animal. It would be best if you did even more than just animals! Do landscapes and humans and vehicles and little objects and all kinds of things.

Also, your colors could use a bit of work. The number of colors you use next to eachother creates an impression of noise, which can look worse than clear shapes. I'll try to pop you an edit when I get on my comp.  ;D

Offline Drazelic

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 05:27:44 pm
Try focusing less on texturing, and more on form. Your latest sprites seem to be pretty heavily defined by their textures, but when you ignore the noise and look at the underlying shape a lot of it doesn't make sense. For example, the wolf next to the river has a really inconsistent lighting scheme; the torso is seemingly pillowshaded while the legs and tail are shaded as if the lightsource were coming from the left or right of the screen.