AuthorTopic: A New programmer try the Pixel art  (Read 4860 times)

Offline Setsaria

• View Profile

A New programmer try the Pixel art

on: May 23, 2014, 06:48:13 pm
Hello Everyone !
(Sorry for my english...)
I'm Jeremy, a french programmers (I use to work on C/C++/GML), I'm working on a little game on windows (export vers mobile phone I think). I started to code this game 8-7 month ago. I'm working alone.
For the code there is no problem, but the design of the game ... It's hard  ;D
I'm not an artist like you ( I saw a lot of amazing draw on this forum, guys you ROCKS ! :y: )
So I started to draw something that you can see below. I found some tutorials on the pixel art, I try to make the design by myself.
I actually use GIMP to draw. Have you got some advices about my little characters ? Did I make some mistakes ?  :(
I try to make this characters running, but I can't make them move ... Have you got a Tips or advices to help me ?

Thank you for reading  :)

Offline Rem

• I am the way
    • View Profile

Re: A New programmer try the Pixel art

Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 06:20:56 am
hey i'm new too. i like your style of pixeling so far. i can't really comment on improving except to just make pixel art. i use gimp as well and theres this animation plugin that i use that creates a sprite sheet from the different layers that you have. i'm sure theres better ways to do this, but this is the method i know. in case you didn't know, the sprite sheet consists of different animation frames.
heres link to plugin.
hope it helps
 http://registry.gimp.org/node/20943

Offline Setsaria

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 07:10:35 am
Hey Rem !
Thanks you for your answer. I didn't know this plugin, thanks to you.  :)
I install it, and i'll try to make a draw animation. If I understand,  I have to draw it frame by frame.
A saw a post about animation on this forum. Draw all part of body on a layer, on mix them to made the animation .

Offline Manupix

• View Profile