AuthorTopic: [WIP] Skeleton Warrior in action! Need help! :c  (Read 2100 times)

Offline gnomey

• :)
    • View Profile

[WIP] Skeleton Warrior in action! Need help! :c

on: May 21, 2014, 06:36:34 pm
Hello everyone!
I started to work on my second "project" and I need help with a simple critique so that I can be directed in the right direction to finish this completely. I'm still learning pixel art at the moment but I want to extend my skills a little more. I started this yesterday and felt that I need some guidance because I don't feel that this piece came out how I wanted to...

I made two versions, one with and without a cape. I was originally going for the version without the cape but I'm liking it with the cape.

and

I was going for a really dark yet simple color palette but I can't seem to figure out how. Help is much appreciated! :D

Offline Cyangmou

• cyangmou
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/32234.htm
    • cyangmou
    • View Profile
    • Pixwerk Homepage

Re: [WIP] Skeleton Warrior in action! Need help! :c

Reply #1 on: May 21, 2014, 09:00:10 pm
the subject you chose don't particularly provides problems for pixel-art it rather provides problems regarding to posture, anatomy, deep space (aka foreshortening), weighting.

Main problem I see here with the pose is that the angle of the spine suggests a really deep bend ribcage.
If you bend your ribcage forward, you usually shift weight to your butt in order to counterbalance the weighting.
In order to get the spine that low the upper legs are to short to support the weight shift, which means you would have to use your hand in order to support your weighting.
The hand of the skeleton nearer to the ground however seems to perform a quite weird grabbing movement.

However if I just interpret it how you have drawn it it seems more like a quite static luring position, wiothout thinking of the weight.