AuthorTopic: [RevShare]Very Experienced Developer Seeks Artist for 2D Undersea Adventure Game  (Read 2170 times)

Offline HuntingtonGames

• View Profile
I feel like an Interview should be as much about me as it is about you.  So before I say what i'm looking for, let me tell you a little about myself.  I'm a 34yo software developer.  I work a full time job doing enterprise web development on a pretty successful web application.  I've been building things since I was about 15 years old when I got my first computer.  I started with Turbo Pascal and it has been a life long obsession ever since.  Turbo Pascal, QBasic, Bash, Perl, Visual Basic, PHP, Javascript, Ruby, Rails, and C#.  But I thought myself to program because I wanted to make games and something weird happened.  I never made a game(that was published).  So about a year ago I set out to do that, and I've been teaching myself C#/Unity.  I've done a bunch of prototyping but this is the first serious endeavor i'm embarking on.  I have experience shipping and maintaining software used by hundreds of thousands of people everyday.  So I know how to complete a project and see it through to the end.

This is where I come looking for you.  I thought I could be a hero, make music, make art, do the programming, but truth is, I'm a long way off of being a decent artist.  I've tried but it's not realistic to think I can do this on this project and do it in any realistic amount of time and create the quality i'm looking for in the pixels.  I can program anything, but art is hard. 

Just as long as i've spent learning to be a programmer, hopefully the person i'm looking for has spent just as much time being an artist.