AuthorTopic: Liqui  (Read 2632 times)

Offline nachoslave

• @nachoslave
    • View Profile
    • NACHOSLAVE

Liqui

on: March 27, 2014, 09:50:29 pm
Hey folks! I've been doing some animation of a character name Liqui from a personal project. Is a sidescrolling game, the original piece (on the Menu screen I guess) is this:

And then, the animation goes like this, with and without hat:

His name is Liqui, because of what he's wearing (a Liqui Liqui, the typical suit of Venezuela) He's the first part, the second part, his "soul" is the other Liqui (not animated yet):

Some C+C about the animation and the running would be good, I'm new at this and I really wanna get better :) I'm pretty happy with the Menu screen piece, but I think that I might get some advice about the running one.  :)

Offline HarveyDentMustDie

• I dream too much.
    • View Profile
    • Deviant Art

Re: Liqui

Reply #1 on: March 29, 2014, 12:10:49 am
Hi, there are a lot of things that can be done to improve this.

First you need to determine light source, and shade your character accordingly. Currently it looks flat.

Machete is more like a balloon, and its perspective is off.

You could use some reference for skull anatomy to improve your current head shape, especially cheek bones. ->http://img4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130409004754/everymanhybrid/images/9/98/Skull_illustration_by_yungtyrant.jpg

In your running animation character looks vertically squished, which is not very appealing. By changing his width you can gain more space for his movement. ->
You also have to few frames in your animation so it feels more like the kankan. You have the right keyframes but you need at least one or two more frames between them to make it more readable and fluent.