AuthorTopic: Turtle Sprite Help?  (Read 5745 times)

Offline ninhja

• View Profile

Turtle Sprite Help?

on: March 30, 2014, 08:26:37 pm
Hi,

I'm working on making a directly top-down sprite of a turtle for my game. I'm trying to use a style similar to the style used in the game Fez, but for some reason my turtle looks kind of weird. Can anybody help me out? I'm still a beginner

Here's my turtle:

Here's the character from Fez, with the style I'm trying to capture:

Offline Manupix

• View Profile
    • Pixeljoint gallery

Re: Turtle Sprite Help?

Reply #1 on: March 30, 2014, 08:48:33 pm
Please don't post images so large that they don't fit on the page.  :'(
Also even if the final art is intended to be upscaled, post 1x pixels because: 1- we can click-zoom in, and 2- people might want to make edits and this is difficult with upscaled pieces.

So far it's hard to see how this is inspired by the Fez reference, as it is a more realistic character.
The Fez angle of view + shading allows a somewhat 3D feeling; I don't know how you plan to make this work top-down.

Do you have other stuff to show? It might be wise to experiment with big options like this before committing too much work on a sprite.

Offline cels

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/32715.htm
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 30, 2014, 08:57:02 pm
Don't listen to Manupix, he's so grumpy.  :P

I made an edit of the turtle's eyes, using a slightly different colour.

Offline ninhja

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: March 30, 2014, 10:31:33 pm
@Manupix: Haha, I'm sorry, what I did was I too a snippit of my piece, so it's scaled up. I'll post the original scale next time.
And I tried to mimic the simplistic style of the Fez character; there's no black border, and the guy is probably like 20x20, so very small. So it's very simple, whereas a pokemon sprite for example would have many more colors, a black border, and would probably be like 40x40.