AuthorTopic: Animation Practice?  (Read 10071 times)

Offline Azuyre

• ryuzach
    • View Profile

Animation Practice?

on: January 13, 2014, 11:36:41 pm
So, I'm looking for some ways to practice animation, I have some experience but my animations tend to end up looking a little stiff and I want to try and improve.

What I'm wondering is if anyone happens to know of any good animation exercises, maybe something from school or something online, or even just a random idea you might have. When I'm trying to learn something I do better when I have guidelines to follow, I've been trying to just come up with random small animations for practice but since I don't really have any specific goal in mind I always end up over thinking things and not making a decision on what to do.

When I was in school my teachers didn't touch on 2D animation a whole lot since my degree focused on 3D, I've since moved on to 2D and while some things carry over it hasn't been enough to help me get started. I've seen a lot of professional animators talk about animating a sack of flour since its simple and you can have it display a lot of emotion through it's movement. I think if I just had some simple exercises that say "animate this object" with a few guidelines it would help me get started.

I'm referring to 2D animation in general by the way, from what I've heard it seems like I should try to just learn animation in general before focusing on the pixel art aspect of it.

Besides just exercises and things like that maybe some of you could tell me what you did to learn and how you practice animation? Any help would be appreciated. :)

Offline Mr. Fahrenheit

• View Profile

Re: Animation Practice?

Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 02:08:03 am