AuthorTopic: I'm a beginner and I want my work critiqued! :)  (Read 2519 times)

Offline gnomey

• :)
    • View Profile

I'm a beginner and I want my work critiqued! :)

on: November 17, 2013, 05:06:41 am
Ok, here's all my stuffs I want to get checked out so I can improve! :) (picture overload :o)

For one of my game iv been planning.

Game stuff (text adventure iv been working with Java)

One of my recent works

These are some icons and stuff I'v been working on and felt very unsuccessful.

As you can already tell, I like working with little pixels. I like to make my work very "iconic", i tend to reference a lot of work from Vlambeer, Miniboss, and a few other game developers that aren't on top of my head right now.

I'm lacking a LOT of detail on most of these work but at the same time i like the simple look. I feel like since I'm using less pixels, its a bit harder to place where they go and making that one more pixel change makes it look slightly weird or not right. I would like to know what I could do to prevent that from happening and making sure they all look "OK" to look at.

Offline Ai

• finti
    • http://pixeljoint.com/pixels/profile.asp?id=1996
    • finticemo
    • View Profile

Re: I'm a beginner and I want my work critiqued! :)

Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 09:06:25 pm
* Posting many works in one thread and asking for critique rarely works out well -- people don't know which one to focus on (and they don't know that you are focused on one specific item, either.. which reassures people that their critiques may actually get used.). As a result, very few people reply, generally. (at the time I wrote this, 100 people had viewed this thread, with no replies.)

* For animations, it's not appropriate to only post the still frames. Timing is a large part of animation, and can make the difference between an animation looking mediocre and looking snappy.
For example, here's an animation I put together based on your 'slime' frames.