AuthorTopic: 1D Fighter Characters  (Read 3738 times)

Offline RuthlessVoid

• View Profile

1D Fighter Characters

on: September 22, 2013, 09:06:10 pm
Hi guys. I am currently working on a simple 1D fighting game where the character sprites are all blocks that are 16x16. I am actually mainly a programmer and so I'm new to pixel art, as well as art in general, and I'll need all the help I can get. I know that my biggest flaws are with colors and general design.

Version 1:

Version 2 (slight color edit):

Friend's Edit:

Concept doodles:

The first two sprites are the ones I would like the criticisms to be more directed toward. I've just started working on the third one, but any criticisms on it thus far is still welcome. Please let me know if there's any other information about it you would like to know, or if I've left out any helpful information about it. Thanks in advance!

Offline YellowLime

• View Profile
    • Sour Pixels

Re: 1D Fighter Characters

Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 12:12:39 pm
Heh, the concept of abstract square player characters seems interesting to me :) As well as the current designs.

The difference between your sprites and your friend's edit depend on what you originally intended. The "red xbox" square looks better on his/her side, because the reds don't contrast as much as in yours. But if you want the red light to be brighter, you only need to have the darker red be closer to the bright one in brightness.

As for the first guy, depends on whether you want it flat or not. But your friend's version is a bit messy, I don't get the shape (s)he is trying to convey. I assume the upper half is tilted upwards (lighter) and the lower is tilted downwards (shadowed), so the weird light blue patterns are "painted over". But it's confusing. :o

(by the way, wouldn't it be a 2D game? The only thing you can do in 1D are lines...)

Offline kriss

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: September 23, 2013, 12:35:09 pm