AuthorTopic: [WIP] Action-Adventure, sprites&tiles.  (Read 3186 times)

Offline Neo Berserker

• View Profile

[WIP] Action-Adventure, sprites&tiles.

on: July 22, 2013, 06:22:27 pm
Hello guys, recently i've been making some sprites for a possible zelda-like, i'm not very experienced so i pretty much go with my instinct. I intend to give it simplistic style.

Here's the player character which i tried to animate.

A slime.

Flinch

And here's a small mock up.

Any C&C very appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2013, 12:44:17 am by Neo Berserker »

Offline PypeBros

• Pixel Padawan
    • PypeBros
    • View Profile
    • Bilou Homebrew's Blog.

Re: [WIP] Action-Adventure, sprites&tiles.

Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 09:59:29 am
You've got a very nice tree and setting to start with. Take care that your character need to keep in-perspective even when moving sideways. I.e., his feet won't be on the same line and his belt/hat will not be a horizontal line, but slightly curved lines, since he's not exactly facing sideways, but still slightly facing us, as a skilled actor.

I think your (sword?) attack needs to be reworked, though: it's likely to be the #1 offensive move, and as such, clearly identifiable hitboxes are a must.

Link's sword attack clearly target the tile *īn front of* link. You can clearly see whether your attack miss or hit the target, and optimize your position before hitting the attack button next time. Other attack frames are built as a support for that gameplay-critical moment. Of course, all this is of lesser importance in a turn-based RPG.

Offline Neo Berserker

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 12:34:09 am
Oh gee, thanks for the reply. I tried to follow your advise and made some edits, not sure if i still need to make the attack reach further to the next tile so it looks/works better. Also added an attack state to the slime.

Offline r1k

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 07:00:20 am