AuthorTopic: Some help/hints/critique appreciated.  (Read 6163 times)

Offline snv

• View Profile

Some help/hints/critique appreciated.

on: December 31, 2012, 08:04:26 am
Hello! I'm a programmer, not an artist, but I'm trying to produce additional animation frames for http://weremagnus.deviantart.com/art/Abyssal-Drake-136175584 (i.e. it is a cool design to steal for my game) with tools such as blender and photoshop `warp` to do texturing.

Can you give me some hints on how to do it better/faster? This is my first time ever doing any art and original author, weremagus was shocked and mumbled something about me botching his art, refusing to help.

picture sharing

Offline snv

• View Profile

Re: Some help/hints/critique appreciated.

Reply #1 on: December 31, 2012, 03:12:16 pm
Nevermind. I found other way to do it. It allows almost instantly producing sprites having only single frame.

Offline Pawige

• View Profile
    • The Noisy Sanctum

Reply #2 on: December 31, 2012, 07:41:11 pm
Just as a side-note, if you're looking to preserve relations with this artist, stop what you're doing! It's hard for me to think of something I hate more than someone trying to hijack my art and do it "the easy way." Either negotiate with the artist for more frames, hire someone else to make more, or really, anything but this. It's going to look terrible. Low frame rates would be much better than stretching pixels and all the nastiness that you're going to incur here.

Offline Dr D

• Not a real doctor.
    • View Profile
    • PJ Gallery

Reply #3 on: December 31, 2012, 08:52:39 pm
(i.e. it is a cool design to steal for my game)

and

(for anyone that didn't click the link)

I don't get it.. why? You even link to the post yourself, obviously showing that you don't really care what you're doing or acknowledging that it's wrong. I hope you don't say that you'd find it perfectly fine if someone took the entirety of your code for your game and added it a few lines to it to make it 'his'.