AuthorTopic: Platformer Sprites (WIP)  (Read 26180 times)

Offline ericbloom

• View Profile

Platformer Sprites (WIP)

on: September 20, 2012, 04:56:15 pm
I'm new to this, and am having a lot of fun. I could use some feedback on a couple of walk cycles :

This guy is still rough. I really want this enemy to feel *heavy* when walking, and it's not quite there yet. His attack will be a smash attack:

I'm much happier with this enemy walk, though it's more of a traditional walk and easier to plan out. (Really huge shout out to Tsugumo's Mage Knight thread for giving me the smoke and spark idea:http://wayofthepixel.net/index.php?topic=3421.0)

And here he is shooting and resting:

I'd show them at the original sizes too, but I'm at work. I'll update with the main character's run when I get a chance.

Offline Grimsane

• View Profile

Re: Platformer Sprites (WIP)

Reply #1 on: September 22, 2012, 08:41:08 am
great weight with the little guys, and nice movement and the particles and auxiliary animation works well

the way you posted made it hard to do this edit because it wouldn't scale back very friendly, but here's an attempt, get in the habit of animating with timing (xxxms) most game engines can load the timing from gifs if you load it like that, constant frame rate animations is quite a hindrance when you try doing subtle and even snappy motions

took a frame out and added a bounce divided into two half speed frames

Offline wurfle

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: September 22, 2012, 07:03:41 pm
The body of the first one looks very soft to me, not like metal at all. Stiffening up that big middle section should help a lot.

Offline Tourist

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: September 22, 2012, 08:03:36 pm
Here's a pretty good tutorial on making characters seem more massive:

http://brendanbody.blogspot.com/2010/04/weight-problem.html

The short version is that:
  • All things fall at the same rate
  • Not all things are the same size.