AuthorTopic: Sky Lady  (Read 7791 times)

Offline Helm

• View Profile
    • Asides-Bsides

Re: Sky Lady

Reply #10 on: June 17, 2006, 05:24:41 am
Indeed. Nothing goes above 30 saturation in this, most are under 20, and about 5 are close to zero. If you look at the full palette in pro motion or something else, sorted by brightness, you're basically looking at mid to high tones. Kon's latest technique disallows the existence of depth and levels. And he'll have to deal with that.

Offline Panda

• 威風堂々
    • View Profile

Reply #11 on: June 17, 2006, 08:10:17 am
The desaturated palette aint really my thing, apart that it somehow makes some details blend too much and get lost for the human eye unless we zoom the picture but that aside, I really dig the jet smoke, I like the flow of it.
I think you overused gray on the arm, I dont mind it in the other parts, but on the arm it makes it look like it's hairy or deformed. There are some anatomy issues that I wont touch since I'm not an expert to tell you what to change, but just pointing out.
And if you are going to detail the body like that I would do so on the face too, at the moment I think it looks a bit bland.
Other than that I think it is nice, I like it, as some said it feels painted.
Keep it up.

Offline Aleiav

• I like my coffee black just like my metal.
    • View Profile
    • Gothiclola (dot) Net

Reply #12 on: June 18, 2006, 01:15:14 am
correction - you mean hues MORE saturated, not less.   Saturation = vibrant  //  Desaturation = greyish

>_< My bad. :) Thanks for the correction. :)

Offline Faktablad

• grow
    • View Profile
    • Couchpixel

Reply #13 on: June 18, 2006, 11:11:59 am
The palette originally caused me to mistake the fiery exhaust trail for a cloud.  I'd say a desaturated palette works well in depicting some things, however not balls of fire or shiney metal.

Offline AlexHW

• View Profile
    • AlexHW

Reply #14 on: June 18, 2006, 07:35:33 pm