AuthorTopic: Game Hero  (Read 2568 times)

Offline cheatsguy

• View Profile

Game Hero

on: June 07, 2012, 01:31:05 pm
This is my first attempt at making a hero for my game.

if the hair looks familiar, it's rather similar to tsugomo's in his pixel tutorial  :P I can't draw hair very well so thats what i'm most concerned about. Is he too simple?
c+c are very welcome again :D
« Last Edit: June 08, 2012, 04:51:30 am by cheatsguy »

Offline JonasO

• View Profile

Re: Game Hero

Reply #1 on: June 10, 2012, 03:55:01 am
Okay brace yourself for some harsh critique. I'm not a master myself so some of this might be nonsense, but you should see for yourself.

I'd try this:
Add some shading... Make one arm darker and dither the torso.
His arms look great when he's walking down, but seem to hardly move in the other direction.
Due to the way his head tilts forward while moving up, it looks like he's moving backwards. The torso should be in front of the head, not the other way round.
Use colors (one pixel or something) to show which arm is behind, which one is in the front.

It's interesting to see a nose with this character size. It makes the hero look young and droll I think, but that's just my feel.
I agree on the hair being a problem, especially when facing up: The shading makes it look kinda wormlike, especially the strand on the top left. In fact, the thing to his right ear shouldn't be divided from the rest of his hair when looking up. The reason it is divided when he's looking down is because hair != face.
I don't see a pattern behind the shading in the hair. I think there should always be some reason to have a shade, like distance, light, or just manipulating an area into one direction or another.
You could try and make the hair move while walking, too.

I'm not sure if I agree with that missing black pixel in the right-foot-forward-going-down frame.