AuthorTopic: For those that have made graphics for completed games  (Read 5684 times)

Offline Dusty

• View Profile

Re: For those that have made graphics for completed games

Reply #10 on: May 08, 2012, 11:54:36 pm
The person that is paying you is always right.

Unrelated and also wrong!  If you're being paid for your expertise it's absolutely your responsibility to speak up when something is worse than it could be, you're an artist not a robot.
Most definitely. I'm not that experienced in this area, but I have spoken up many times with my client about changes I think should be made and they have almost always obliged and often agreed later that it was for the better. Clients ARE always right, they are paying you to make what they want, however they may not always know what they actually want and if it's even feasible. The point is to COMMUNICATE. They will lay down the final say, but don't let them do so without giving them your opinion. Remember, programmers and artists tend to have a totally different thought process and they may not see things the same way you do.

Offline yaomon17

• YaomonKS
    • taiya.sun
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/28472.htm
    • yaomon17
    • valedev
    • playvale
    • View Profile
    • portfolio

Reply #11 on: May 09, 2012, 02:17:04 am
The person that is paying you is always right.

Unrelated and also wrong!  If you're being paid for your expertise it's absolutely your responsibility to speak up when something is worse than it could be, you're an artist not a robot.

Hey, I have to make a living somehow. The last thing I want to do is irritate the client. If my opinions conflict with his/her's, I am the employee at the end of the day and I have to agree with my boss. Whether something is "worse" or not is not up to my decision, it is the designer's.