AuthorTopic: (WIP) Tree for a game  (Read 11216 times)

Offline Livsgladje

• View Profile

(WIP) Tree for a game

on: April 06, 2012, 03:41:28 pm
I am working on drawing all the pixel art for some friends game but the problem is i have never done pixel art before so this is all a first try for me.

what i am having problems with is that the tree looks like its to much strait forward what i want is the same view you have in like the first zelda games, top down view or what ever it is. I have a real problem getting that feeling of the not only the tree but most stuff i make. So any tips on how this would be done would be great.

here is a picture with trees in the game

Offline Phlakes

• View Profile

Re: (WIP) Tree for a game

Reply #1 on: April 06, 2012, 04:08:11 pm
Obligatory posting of the tutorial with the Secret of Mana 3 tree.

I'll try be concise here.

Broken down to the most basic shapes, trees are basically a cylinder with a sphere on top. So when you shade the leaves, you need to treat the entire form as a sphere, with heavy shadows along the bottom and highlights concentrated in one frontal area rather than along the top, following the outline.

But of course shading one giant sphere won't look like a tree, so, like the tutorial says, break it up and several smaller spheres. Here's one I did a long time ago, which I never actually finished but that makes it a lot better for getting my point across-

You can see that the entire form follows the shading of a sphere-

With each smaller sphere being modified to fit the section of the bigger sphere it's on.